What's Available @ the Library?

Navigation

    @ Bancroft Public Library


    Summer Programming 2014


    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B5GrbWCIjReRZDdtR0dVV1kzalU/edit
    Want a printable version of this schedule for yourself? Click -->HERE<--

    Monday, June 30 @ 2 pm

    Explore Your Insides

    Make a model lung, do the heart mambo, participate in a digestion simulation, make a model spinal cord and test your reflexes!


    Wednesday, July 2 @ 10 am

    GUTS shirts

    Paint a t-shirt so you can wear your insides on your outside. **Please pre-register for this program, by June 23, in order to insure enough supplies.** 854-7463


    Wednesday, July 9 @ 10 am

    Bubble Trouble


    Wednesday, July 16 @ 10 am

    Break the Ice


    Monday, July 21 @ 2 pm

    Snow Day in July

    We’ll make paper snowflakes and crystal snowflakes and even play in a pool full of “snow”. You’ve gotta see this one to believe it!


    Wednesday, July 23 @ 10 am

    Minute to Win It: Inertia Edition

    Newton’s first law has never been this much fun!


    Thursday, July 24 @ 6 pm

    Air Pressure Magic

    Watch in amazement and then try each activity yourself!


    Monday, July 28 @ 2 pm

    Touch A Truck

    Emergency vehicles -- Fire trucks, ambulances and the sheriff’s department! Don’t forget the camera!


    Wednesday, July 30 @ 10 am

    Owl Pellet Dissection

    Just what is an owl pellet? And what will we find inside it? And what can we learn about owls from it? Lots of questions to find the answers to in this program!


    Thursday, July 31 @ 6 pm

    Tie-Dye” Shirts

    We’ll learn some simple chemistry and use it to create beautiful shirts.


    Monday, August 4 @ 2 pm

    How Much Space is Space?

    We’ll map the solar system to learn just how empty it is. You’ll leave with your own solar system map and necklace/bracelet.


    Wednesday, August 6 @ 10 am

    Gak, Slime, Goobers and More

    Follow some tried-and-true recipes to make several kinds of polymers (the scientific word for all those fun concoctions) and then you’ll have the chance to experiment to create your own perfect blend. Maybe you’ll create the next great slime formula!


    Thursday, August 7 @ 6 pm

    Movie Night

    Bring your favorite pillow and snuggle in to watch “Honey, I Shrunk the Kids” on the big screen. Pajamas welcome!


    Monday, August 11 @ 2 pm

    Cabbage Juice Caper

    An introduction to acid/base chemistry, with a mystery to solve.


    Wednesday, August 13 @ 10 am

    Animal Games

    Learn about food webs and animal habitats while you run like a deer, act like a baby bird and more.


    Thursday, August 14 @ 6 pm

    End the summer with a BANG!

    Eruptions and explosions galore!


    All programs are free and no registration is required (with the exception of the GUTS t-shirts). All children, preschool through elementary school, are invited to attend and the programs will be adapted to best suit the ages in attendance.  


    A HUGE thanks to the Friends of the Bancroft Library for allowing us to offer these programs for free!


    http://www.summerreadingnys.org/